21 buildings shortlisted for RSUA Design Awards

Throughout April all shortlisted schemes will be visited by the judging panel. The winners of this year’s RSUA Design Awards will be announced at a ceremony on May 18, 2018 at the Whitla Hall, Queen’s University Belfast, which was designed by local architect John McGeagh along with Edward Maufe of London and won a RIBA Architecture Medal in 1950.

Ciarán Fox, Director of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects (RSUA), said, “This year’s shortlist takes in a wonderful range of project types and budgets ranging from a distinctive house for £100k in Belfast to a £75m hospital in Omagh. There are also a number of fine examples of conservation of our historic built environment which add so much to the character of the region.

“Conditions for architects working in Northern Ireland have remained challenging over the last year but there is growing appreciation amongst clients and policy makers in the region that investing intelligently in design quality delivers tangible benefits to a project and to society.

“The judging panel have decided to visit as many projects as possible because it is not until you’ve experienced a building and met with the client that you can get a true sense of its merits. “Nonetheless, some difficult decisions had to be made and I would like to thank those who took the time and effort to enter this year’s competition who have not been shortlisted on this occasion.”

All of these buildings are potential RSUA Design Award winners. If they are successful, they will be in the running to win the Liam McCormick Prize – Northern Ireland’s building of the year – and will be considered for a UK-wide RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June.

The buildings that have been shortlisted are:

[lgc_column grid=”60″ tablet_grid=”60″ mobile_grid=”100″ last=”false”]
  • Arvalee School and Resource Centre, Omagh 
  • Castle Tower School, Ballymena 
  • Corriewood Private Clinic, Castlewellan 
  • County Down Barn, Newtownards 
  • Main Site Tower and Peter Froggatt Centre, QUB, Belfast 
  • Maison Wedge, Killinchy 
  • New Paediatrics Ward, Craigavon Area Hospital Craigavon 
  • Newry Leisure Centre – Phase 2, Newry 
  • No 37, Belfast 
  • Omagh Hospital and Primary Care Complex 
  • Parkes House, Greenisland 
  • QUB Computer Sciences Building, Belfast 
  • Rosemount Mews, Greyabbey 
  • Scrabo Clachan, Newtownards 
  • Sportlann, Belfast 
  • St Bronagh’s Primary School, Rostrevor 
  • The Junction, Community Peace Building, Dungannon 
  • The Weaving Works, Belfast 
  • Titanic Hotel Belfast, Belfast 
  • Tropical Ravine Restoration, Belfast 
  • Union Theological College, Belfast 


[/lgc_column] [lgc_column grid=”40″ tablet_grid=”40″ mobile_grid=”100″ last=”true”]
  • Isherwood + Ellis
  • Isherwood + Ellis
  • McGurk Architects
  • Micah T Jones Architect
  • TODD Architects
  • BGA Architects Ltd
  • TODD Architects
  • Kennedy FitzGerald Architects LLP
  • FAMILY architects designers makers
  • TODD Architects with Hall Black Douglas
  • Dickson FitzGerald
  • Kennedy FitzGerald Architects
  • GM Design Associates Limited
  • BGA Architects Ltd
  • ARdMackel Architects
  • DON architects
  • Hall Black Douglas
  • RMI Architects
  • RMI Architects
  • Hall Black Douglas
  • Alastair Coey Architects